Blog Post #9: Reflections

When I started at USCB last fall I was a Communications major, not because I necessarily wanted to do anything in communications but I thought it was the best course of study for what I want to do. I knew that I would need to communicate my argument for the need for gun control effectively if I had any hope of changing the trajectory of gun violence in our surrounding communities, and our future as a nation. I was not sure about it though, because to seemed as if there were many other things I would need to be educated on in order to make a well researched and substantiated argument, and luckily I had Libby Ricardo as a professor so I found out about Interdisciplinary Studies. I switched majors, was excited, and have had a lot of people ask over and over and over…what is your major again? There was one problem, I spent most of last year not completely understanding exactly what my new major was. I can say that after this class I completely get it! This semester I have taken Sociology of Crime, Sociology of the Body, Performance of Caring, math (still hate it and don’t see any relevance), and this class. Interdisciplinary Research Methods has helped me to build on my foundation of what I knew about interdicplinarity and make meaningful connections across all of my classes, except math. While I still find my need for communication important, I realize now that there is so much more that must be studied for me to fully be able to understand and convey the need for gun legislation and to make the impact on society that I lay awake dreaming about.

One thought on “Blog Post #9: Reflections

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started